Sociology & Anthropology are social sciences dedicated to trying to understand  how people interact with each other and the world around them. We study individuals, cultures, and societies around the globe and right here in Texas. We invite you to join us!

 

   
 
 
  Sociology Program
  Anthropology Program

 

 

 

Events

 

 

 

 

Sustainability and Social Justice Film and Lecture Series

Fall Semester 2015

 

The Big Fix (documentary),
Tues. Sept. 29, 6:00 Sid Richardson, Lecture Hall 3
The Big Fix investigates questions of corporate negligence and political corruption surrounding the Deepwater Horizon (BP) oil spill and its lingering effects on the Gulf Coast. The film presents a compelling array of testimony from EPA officials, journalists, scientists, and politicians as well as distraught residents and fisherfolk who are experiencing myriad health problems in the wake of the disaster.
For further information please contact Dr. Jeannine Gailey, j.gailey@tcu.edu or Dr. Lisa Vanderlinden, l.vanderlinden@tcu.edu

 

“Sustainable Autonomy among the Guna of Panama: A Study of Territory and Identity” lecture delivered by Cebaldo de León,
Tues. October 7 at 6:15 pm, BLUU auditorium (with reception at 5:30)
De León is a Guna (Native American) anthropologist from Panama. His lecture deals with the Gunas’ decades-long struggles to construct and defend their autonomous comarca (Guna Yala), the Caribbean coastal homeland of the Guna people. The lecture will cover topics such as ecology and Guna cultural, economic, and political structures, and their function in contesting intrusions from the national government and other outside forces.
For further information please contact Dr. Peter Szok, p.szok@tcu.edu

 

Giving Thanks. Giving Relief. A Global Impact on Healthcare (panel discussion)
Tues. Nov. 17th 6:30-8:00, BLUU Auditorium
This panel discussion highlights the work of five physicians, Drs. Bonnell, Gibson, Foley, Knight and Podgore, who will describe their global health relief efforts in numerous locations across the globe, including Haiti, Thailand, Liberia, Rwanda. For further information please contact Dr. Clark Jones, c.jones2@tcu.edu, or Dr. Suzy Lockwood, s.lockwood@tcu.edu


The Salt of the Earth (documentary)
Tues Dec. 1, 6:30 Palko 130
This film (Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, directors) documents the life work of Brazilian photographer and conservationist Sebastião Salgado. The work spans the globe and captures images of people in their relationship with the earth’s flora and fauna, expressing human and natural devastation and beauty. The documentary was an Academy Award Nominee for Best Documentary (2014).
For further information, please contact Dr. David Sandell, d.sandell@tcu.edu

 

For more information about any of these events, please contact Ms. Shawn Keane, Sociology and Anthropology Department Administrator,

817-257-7470 or s.keane@tcu.edu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Department Staff
   
 

Dr. Morrison Wong
Department Chair & Sociology Program Director

 

Dr. Miguel Leatham
Anthropology Program Director

 

Ms. Shawn Keane
Administrator

AddRan logo
Department of Sociology & Anthropology | © Texas Christian University
2855 Main Dr. | Fort Worth, TX 76129 | TCU Box 298710 | Phone: 817-257-7470 | Fax: 817-257-7737